no egg nutella® ice cream with goat’s milk

Until now, all the ice creams I’ve featured here have been made in the French-style, meaning that it is made from a custard base that includes eggs.  This method relies on egg yolks to give richness to the ice cream. However, today’s recipe is a Philadelphia- or American-style ice cream that is made without eggs.  It is an adaptation from Jeni Britton Bauer’s recipe for  The Milkiest Chocolate Ice Cream in the World featured in her book, Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home.  Traditionally, Philadephia-style ice cream is made from an uncooked base, but Jeni’s technique requires boiling the liquids to remove as much of the water in the mixture as possible.  This step, as well as adding cornstarch to absorb any remaining water, eliminates ice crystals and keeps the ice cream smooth.  A big thanks to Jeni for figuring this out and for sharing it with all of us!

In addition to trying an egg-less ice cream recipe, I also decided to experiment with goat’s milk in the preparation so I substituted it for the whole milk that was originally called for in the recipe.  This inspiration came from sampling the artisanal goat’s milk soft-serve ice cream at Victory Garden in New York City’s West Village.  I thought that the slight tang of the goat’s milk would work well with the rest of the ingredients in this ice cream.  Also, the goat’s milk, with smaller fat molecules that are more evenly distributed,  lends even more creaminess and  smoothness to ice cream.

Without a doubt, this is the creamiest and smoothest ice cream I’ve ever eaten. Even without eggs, it still has the richness of custard-style  ice cream.  Thanks to my husband’s suggestion, I added some Nutella® to enhance the flavor even more. I absolutely love the softer texture of the ice cream, making it much easier to scoop.  Also, since this ice cream does not have as much water, it has fewer ice crystals, eliminating the brain freeze you get when you eat it too fast.

No Egg Nutella Ice Cream with Goat’s Milk
Yields about 1 quart

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups goat milk
4 teaspoons corn starch
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 cup evaporated milk
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, either natural or Dutch-processed
2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
2 ounces Nutella
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon coffee extract

Method:
Mix a few tablespoons of goat milk and corn starch in a small bowl to make a slurry. Set aside.

In a saucepan, heat the rest of the goat milk, cream, evaporated milk, sugar, and corn syrup. When the mixture comes to a moderate boil, whisk in the cocoa powder. Let it cook at a modest boil for approximately 4 minutes.

Whisk in the corn starch slurry and continue to cook for another minute, stirring constantly with a spatula, until slightly thickened.

Remove from heat and add the chopped chocolate, Nutella, and salt, stirring until the chocolate is completely melted and the Nutella is fully incorporated. Stir in the vanilla and coffee extracts.

Transfer the ice cream mixture into a zip-top plastic bag and submerge the bag into a bowl filled with ice. Let sit until cool, approximately 30 minutes. Add more ice to the bowl, if needed.

Remove the bag from the ice bath and pour the mixture into the chilled canister of your ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Store ice cream in a airtight container.

Adapted from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home by Jenni Britton Bauer.

© Daisy’s World, 2012All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Daisy’s World with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

8 thoughts on “no egg nutella® ice cream with goat’s milk

  1. Daisy, my son loves ice cream but can’t have cow dairy at all, so I tried making goat milk ice cream….I can’t find goat milk cream so there was no cream, just goat’s milk. He also can’t have eggs, so I didn’t use eggs, or sugar. I used stevia instead. I also put in frozen strawberries. I don’t think my ice cream maker works. It was thick when I poured it in, but after 30 minutes it was liquid and 1/2 the mound in the ice cream maker! Do you think it’s just my ice cream maker, or a combination of no eggs and no cream? I really have to figure this out as I can’t stand store bought ice cream.

    Thanks.

  2. Pingback: A Spoonful of Nutella Makes Everything Betta! | Yummly

  3. I love goat’s milk ice cream, and I did not know that the reason it’s so creamy is because it has smaller molecules than cow’s milk. Nice recipe.

  4. Hi Daisy, I’d be interested to know how you think Jeni’s Philadelphia-style ice cream compares to French-style. I read an interview with Jeni where she said that the milk and cream flavours come through a lot more in her ice creams because there is no egg yolk to mask the flavour; did you find this too?

    Keep up the good work! All the best, Ruben

    • Hi, Ruben!

      Based on my only experience with Jeni’s ice cream, I would agree. First of all, I love the consistency and texture of her ice cream. There’s no waiting period where you’d have to take the ice cream out of the freezer for a few minutes before you can scoop it. It’s already the perfect consistency. I’m not sure how the goat milk added to the consistency, but this particular batch was amazing! The chocolate and nutella flavor really came through. And since it’s not as cold, it seems like you can taste the flavor more.

      daisy

      • Great stuff, thank you for your reply. This recipe, along with Jeni’s approach to ice cream making, sounds really interesting so I think I’ll give it a go to see how it compares to French-style.

        Keep up the good work! All the best, Ruben

Comment