andes® crème de menthe chip cookies

If you’re a fan of Andes® Crème de Menthe candies as I am, then you’ll love these cookies.  They are deliciously minty and chocolatey at the same time, perfect with a glass of milk.  For those of you not familiar with these after-dinner treats, they are small rectangular candies consisting of a layer of mint sandwiched between layers of chocolate that come in a distinctive shiny green foil wrapper.  While I rarely think to buy them, it always brings a smile to my face when I get them with the check at the end of a restaurant meal or find one on my pillow when staying at a hotel. For convenience I used Andes® Crème de Menthe Baking Chips in these cookies.  The regular candies work fine but they need to be turned into chips which involves unwrapping each individual candy and then processing them in a food processor.  I supppose you may also use a combination of chocolate and mint baking chips as well.

I was going to use my trusty chocolate chip cookie recipe, but then decided to try the one on the back of the Andes bag.  Why not?  For years, my go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe had been the one from the back of a bag of Nestlé® Toll House® chocolate chips.  Well, I’m glad I did because these cookies look great and taste refreshingly minty!

Andes Crème de Menthe Chip Cookies
Yields approximately 30 cookies

Ingredients:
2 2/3 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon coffee extract (optional)
1 package (10 oz.) Andes® Crème de Menthe Baking Chips

Method:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line baking pan with parchment paper or silicone baking mat.

In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.

Place butter in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Cream the butter until light. Add both sugars and beat until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time.  Add the vanilla and coffee extracts and beat until incorporated.

Add the Andes® mint chips and then add the flour mixture gradually and mix just until the dough is incorporated. Wrap the cookie dough with plastic wrap and chill for at least one hour.

Measure out approximately 1-ounce portions of dough and roll to form a ball and flatten slightly.

Raise oven rack one level above the middle and bake for approximately 8-10 minutes or until the edges start to turn golden brown and the centers are still soft.

Cool on pans for two minutes before removing.

Store baked cookies at room temperature in an airtight container.

Adapted from the Andes Crème de Menthe Cookie Recipe.

© Daisy’s World, 2012All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Daisy’s World with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

14 thoughts on “andes® crème de menthe chip cookies

  1. Pingback: Preparing for the Busiest Baking Week of the Year

  2. Pingback: What I’m Loving Lately XXIV

  3. Good to know. I’m trying these baking chips for the first time because I want to make mint chocolate chip cookies and I was going to use the Toll House recipe. I was just comparing directions on both Nestle and Andes when I did a search and found your article. Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. If only I could find Andes here in London! I’ll have to find an appropriate substitution … I’ve been fixating lately on chocolate chip cookies and these are gorgeous.

Comment