candies and confections – part 2: moulded chocolates

The inspiration for these home-made chocolates came from the caramels I found at Fran’s Chocolates in Seattle.  I discovered Fran Bigelow’s shop when I lived there years ago.  Her Smoked Sea Salt Caramels, soft and chewy caramels covered in dark chocolate and sprinkled with smoked sea salt, have been a favorite of mine ever since.

When I tasted the salted butter caramels I made earlier this week, I knew right away they would make the perfect filling for my version of Salted Caramel Chocolates.  I thought about just dipping the caramels in tempered chocolate.  However, I have never really gotten the knack for that without making a big mess and having them look anything but amateurish.  Another way to enrobe the caramels in chocolate is to use a mould.  I invested in a nice set of magnetic chocolate moulds a few years ago so I decided use one of them.  I prefer using moulds because they come in many interesting shapes and produce chocolates that have a very uniform look with clean, sharp edges.  I love the look of my chocolate caramels, with their shiny dark chocolate shell contrasted against the clean white candy papers and the sprinkling of sea salt on top. And they taste great too!

Salted Caramel Chocolates
Yields 30 pieces

Ingredients:
24 pieces of salted caramel, cut into 1” x ¾” pieces (recipe)
1 pound good quality bittersweet chocolate (I used Callebaut 70% Bittersweet Chocolate), tempered
smoked sea salt, for garnish (I used Trader Joe’s brand)

Method:
For directions on tempering chocolate, click here or here.

You may either dip the caramel centers in chocolate or make the chocolates by filling a magnetic chocolate mould with the caramel center.

Sprinkle finished chocolates with smoked sea salt.

Aside from the Salted Caramel Chocolates, I also made these chocolates filled with Passion Fruit Ganache using the magnetic mould and a chocolate transfer sheet, which imprints a pretty design on top of the chocolates.  Transfer sheets come in many patterns and designs and give home-made chocolates a professional look.

Passion Fruit Ganache Chocolates
Yields 30 pieces

Ingredients:
For the ganache
4  ounces semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 ounce heavy cream
1 teaspoon honey
2 ounces passion fruit purée (I used Boiron brand)
½ ounce butter, room temperature

For the chocolate mold
1 pound good quality bittersweet chocolate, tempered
1 chocolate transfer sheet, cut to size of mould

Method:
To make the ganache, chop the semi-sweet chocolate and transfer to a metal bowl.  Set aside.

In a sauce pan, combine the heavy cream, honey, and passion fruit purée.  Heat mixture until it reaches almost the boiling point.  Pour the hot mixture over the chocolate and let stand for 2 minutes.  Add butter and stir until the ganache is smooth.

For another tutorial on how to use the magnetic mould with the chocolate transfer sheet, click here.

© Daisy’s World, 2012All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Daisy’s World with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

6 thoughts on “candies and confections – part 2: moulded chocolates

  1. This is absolutely extraordinary. I have been fantasizing lately about doing molded chocolates and I think you’ve just given me the courage to go out and try them. I am so incredibly impressed. And inspired! And impressed! And amazed! Wonderful wonderful.

Comment